The Lucky One Review

This past Saturday after a longggg day of visiting my future alma mater, North Central College, for their transfer student day (I’m officially a Cardinal, YAY!) as well as running errands, my parents and I decided to head out for a movie night. Naturally this included having buttery movie theater popcorn with nacho cheese and candy for dinner… I didn’t hate it.

Yummmm!

Our movie choice for the night was… *drum roll*

The Lucky One!
(trailer can be found here)

The Lucky One is based on the novel The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks. For those of you who haven’t heard of the movie here is a summary of the storyline from imdb.com:

“U.S. Marine Sergeant Logan Thibault returns from his third tour of duty in Iraq, with the one thing he credits with keeping him alive a photograph he found of a woman he doesn’t even know. Discovering her name is Beth and where she lives, he shows up at her door, and ends up taking a job at her family-run local kennel. Despite her initial mistrust and the complications in her life, a romance develops between them, giving Logan hope that Beth could be much more than his good luck charm.”

Okay, now time for my review:

I really enjoyed this movie. It has the typical romantic storyline: boy and girl meet, boy and girl turn each other away, boy and girl fall in love, boy and girl get into a fight, boy and girl make up, end up together and live happily ever after. Overall, The Lucky One had a clear theme that was consistent throughout the movie. However, I did find that certain events in the movie felt a bit rushed; which I completely understand because if it wasn’t rushed the movie would have been 4 hours long. That being said, I had not read the book prior to seeing the movie and everyone knows the Cardinal rule: don’t see a movie if you have read the book first, it will ruin it for you! My mom on the other hand had read the book and wasn’t exactly pleased at how it played out on screen. After the movie she shared with me a bunch of the differences between the movie and the book which is part of the reason why I’ll give this movie 3 stars.

I’m giving The Lucky One 3 stars because not only is it very different than the book (based on what my mom shared with me) but it also felt rushed. Generally speaking though it was still an enjoyable movie and I would recommend it to anyone who is a sucker for a good love story.

Have any of you seen it? If so, what was your take on the movie?

Haven’t see the movie and want to? Click here for movie times in your area. Haven’t read the book and want to? Click here to purchase.

– Katie

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

