S’mores on a Stick Tutorial (Step-By-Step Instructions)

I didn’t have a lot of time on my hands this morning but I vowed to put up a new post everyday this week and that is exactly what I’m going to do. Today I decided I would try a new spin on something that is very near and dear to my heart, S’mores!!! Ladies and gents may I introduce to you… S’mores on a Stick!

What you’ll need*:

– Deep microwave-safe bowl
– Additional bowl
– Parchment paper
– Standard size marshmallows
– Lollipop sticks
– Candy melts or Almond bark
– Vegetable shortening
– Graham cracker crumbs
(or place regular graham crackers in a large Ziploc bag and
crush until the crackers become fine crumbs)

*Sizes/amounts depend on how many S’mores on a Stick are desired

Step 1

Place some chocolate in your microwave safe bowl and heat for 60 seconds (or just press the express one minute button like I did) then remove and stir. Continue stirring until all of the chocolate is melted together. Once you’ve stirred for around a minute you may notice that your chocolate needs more time. If so, don’t worry about it for now we’ll address that situation in step 3.

Step 2

Dip your lollipop sticks about half an inch into the chocolate, insert half way into the flat side of the marshmallow then set aside to harden. This ensures the marshmallow will stay on the stick during the dipping process.

Step 3

If all of your chocolate isn’t melted together yet continue the microwaving process at 30 second intervals (30 seconds in then remove and stir) until all the chocolate is completely melted (my chocolate usually takes about 90 seconds total but the amount of time will differ based on the power of your microwave).

Step 4

Once all your chocolate is melted and you’ve inserted the lollipop sticks into your marshmallows you will want to add some vegetable shortening (NEVER WATER) to the remaining chocolate in order to thin out it out a bit more (this makes the dipping process easier to manage). Only add a little vegetable shortening at a time because you don’t want your chocolate to become too runny (usually around half a teaspoon does the trick for me). At first it may look like the vegetable shortening isn’t melting completely but just keep stirring and I promise it’ll all mix in eventually.

Step 5 

Now that your chocolate is thinned out you can start dipping. I find it easiest to dip the marshmallows straight down and out of the chocolate. Go to step 5.5 and 6 before continuing on with the rest of the marshmallows.

Step 5.5

Once the entire marshmallow is covered in chocolate let the excess chocolate run off (this should take about 30 seconds or so). You may want to use both hands for this step; use one hand to hold the stick and the other hand to gently tap your wrist (or fingers, which is what I do). Vibrations from the tapping will help move the excess chocolate along faster than just holding the stick still over the bowl.

Step 6

Immediately after finishing step 5.5 you’ll want to sprinkle with or pat (I found rolling became too messy) the chocolate covered marshmallow in the graham cracker crumbs before the chocolate hardens. Once coated with graham cracker crumbs place the marshmallow on parchment paper to set. Repeat steps 5-6 until desired amount of S’mores on a stick are finished.

And here’s the finished product…

Well that was painless and only took about 25 minutes from start to finish to make 12 S’mores on a stick. I reallyyyyy hope you all will give it a try because let me tell you, these are DELISH! (I may or may not have already eaten 3 today) This is my first attempt at making them and I think I just found a new favorite treat! If you try it out let me know what you think, I’m always interesting in hearing other people’s opinions.

Give my tutorial a try? Leave a comment. I’d love to hear whether or not it worked out for you.

– Katie

I had some extra chocolate left over from dipping and when life gives me chocolate I… dip fruit in it!

P.S. All photos were taken with my iPhone 4s since I could easily work with one hand and take photos with the other so the quality isn’t the best but you get the point…

Leave a comment

Filed under Beginning Baker

Leave a Reply

