New Favorite Quote

BREAKING NEWS: I have a new favorite quote! And it was said by none other than…. Lil Wayne. Yes, you heard it correctly. My new favorite quote was said by a rapper (and no it isn’t from one of his songs).

Now, before I share this quote with you I want to give you a short back-story on how I heard this quote… I know it’s not for everyone but being that I have insomnia I’m a big fan of night classes. Nighttime is when I get all my energy so that’s why I tend to schedule my classes in the evening. Naturally driving home in the (almost) dead of the night the radio becomes my best friend. Driving home I kept hearing this commercial over and over and over again. No matter what kind of mood I was in every time I would hear this commercial I would instantly become content. The reason why this quote means so much to me is that it encompasses everything that I am. It’s not often that you hear something and think, “wait a minute, is he talking to me?” and that is exactly what I felt listening to this random late-night radio commercial.

Without further ado here is my new favorite quote…

I don’t set out to be different. I set out to be me, and people think it’s different.
– Lil Wayne

This is just a selection from the full radio commercial by Lil Wayne explaining exactly what the DEWeezy campaign is.

For more information on the DEWeezy campaign click here.

Here is a link to a YouTube video with the audio of this commercial and below is the full quote.

I would say DEWeezy is mainly about finding yourself, finding your thing and doing you. I mean that’s what I do. I hate anything average, I hate normal, I refuse to be basic. I don’t follow no cliché, I’m so not stereotypical, and I live to be that way. I’m super serious and I’m very hard on myself…but that’s just what it is, I’m a professional. If you believe that what you think you can do…then there’s no room for doubt. Obviously if you think you can do it, who’s to tell you can’t? Don’t be afraid of it. Don’t worry about what anyone else think about it. You live it and you believe in it. I don’t set out to be different. I set out to be me, and people think it’s different. That’s boldness and that’s self belief. That’s how I DEW.”
– Lil Wayne

I hope this quote will touch you all in the same way it touched me. It isn’t a bad thing to be different from everyone else. It’s what makes you, you.

– Katie

Leave a comment

Filed under Favorites

Leave a Reply

