DIY Ombré T-Shirt (Step-By-Step Instructions)

Happy Friday everyone! We made it to another weekend!

Today’s post is another DIY and a reallyyyy easy DIY at that. Ombré is a HUGE trend going on right now. Not only Ombré hair but also Ombré clothing and nails. Today I tackled Ombré dyeing a t-shirt. Mine didn’t turn out as gradient as I had hoped (I blame my dark color choice and leaving it in the dye too long) but it stills looks good.

What you’ll need for this project:

1) White t-shirt (or other clothing article)
*pre-wash before dyeing
2) RIT liquid dye (can be found at Michael’s)
3) 1/2 cup of salt
4) Bucket (choose one you don’t mind staining)
5) Hot water
6) Gloves (optional)
7) Something to stir the dye with (I chose a ruler that I didn’t care about staining)
8) Two clothes pins
9) Safety pins or straight pins (I forgot to photograph this… whoops)

Step 1

Fill your bucket with steaming hot water (around 3 gallons).

Step 2

Wet the shirt. (the shirt you’re planning to dye, not the one you are wearing…) Ring out until the shirt is damp but no longer dripping.

Step 3

Pin up the sleeves with safety pins or straight pins (if you wish to leave them uncolored).

Step 4

Add 1/2 bottle of RIT liquid dye to the steaming water and stir until combined.

Step 5

Add 1/2 cup of salt to the dye bath. Stir until combined.
(you may need to omit this step based on type of fabric being used… refer to side of dye bottle)

Step 6

Place shirt in dye bath up to the point where you’d like to start the Ombré effect and fasten onto bucket with clothespins to hold in place. At 5 minutes intervals (could be less depending on how light you’d like the Ombré to be) move shirt slightly out of dye and re-pin. I did this 4 times; leaving the last section in for 10 minutes instead of 5 for a darker tint.

Step 7

Un-pin shirt from the bucket and using your gloves remove from the dye bath. Rinse shirt until the water runs (mostly) clear. Unfortunately this step will take around 10-15 minutes and there still will be dye left in the shirt but as long as most is out you’re good!

Step 8

Un-pin the sleeves and hang outside to dry.

Step 9

Once dried you can wash the shirt. I did this in my kitchen sink. I ended up having to wash the shirt 3 times (once with laundry detergent and twice in a vinegar and water bath) in order to get the rest of the dye out. This process tinted the white part of my shirt slightly blue… which I actually think made it look better! After washing hang back out to dry again. I left mine outside until it was mostly dry and then threw it in the dryer with some towels to finish.

Step 10

Wear it!

(It was getting dark when I took this picture so you can’t really see the Ombré effect. You can see the gradient better in the picture on the left.)

I know this seems like a lot of steps but I promise you this is sooooo easy and you will love it! My mom wants me to make her one so I’m going to experiment with the timing and see if I can get a better Ombré on hers. I’ll post a picture once I make her shirt and let you know how it goes!

Give my tutorial a try? Leave a comment. I’d love to hear whether or not it worked out for you.

Have a great weekend!

– Katie

6 Comments

Filed under DIY and Crafts

6 responses to “DIY Ombré T-Shirt (Step-By-Step Instructions)

  1. That deep violet colour is really pretty. This is such a nice DIY! Great for giving an old white tee and new look 🙂

  2. Amber

    This seems to work well!

  3. Good day! I know this is kind of off topic but
    I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my
    comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

