Ready for a Change

Number one on my summer to-do list is to get back in shape and number six is to run a 5K. Like any logical person, I decided that I’m going to kill two birds with one stone and achieve number one while training for number six. Or… achieve number six while working at number one. Guess it depends on how you look at it.

Today, June 1st 2012, marks the start of my new “lifestyle change.” I hear if you call it a diet you’re just setting yourself up for failure and thus far in my life I can tell you that is extremely true.

I weighed myself this morning (before I ate breakfast but after I used the bathroom) and the verdict was… 138.2 pounds. I was surprised at this number because I’ve remained at or near this weight for about the past 10 months. Which I guess is good because I didn’t gain any more weight but I also didn’t lose any weight either. I was beginning to think my scale was broken so I picked up a gallon of water then stood on the scale again and nope, not broken!

Now that I have my starting weight it’s time to decide on a reasonable goal. I used to say I wanted to be back at my high school weight (118 pounds) but I’ve decided that anywhere between 120-125 pounds is a more realistic goal to start with. I’m giving myself a timeline of 3 months to try and get there.

Now, you might be thinking to yourself, “Oh, 13 pounds in 3 months? That’s easy…” WRONG! I’m the worst person when it comes to food. I’m not an overly picky eater but one thing I do not eat is vegetables. I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s a combination of the smell, color, texture and taste that I just can’t get over. The only vegetables that I do like are baked potatoes, raw carrots and romaine lettuce (sad, I know). The polar opposite of my hatred of vegetable is my love of sweets and by love I mean obsession. I love, love, loveeee anything with a lot of sugar in it and I have a horrible time with self control. Basically at this point I have zero self control when it comes to sweets. All this being said I am going to keep track of my daily calorie intake using My Fitness Pal.

You may remember I mentioned My Fitness Pal as one of my Top 10 Favorite iPhone Apps. Using the app and website I am going log in all the food and/or drinks I take in everyday. I started off today by entering in my current weight and changing my goals. My Fitness Pal then gave me then gave me a calorie goal of 1,200 per day. If I stay at 1,200 calories per day, even without exercise, I should lose a pound a week. However, I plan on starting an exercise routine as well.

I plan on exercising at least 5-6 days a week for 45-60 minutes. My exercise plan will include going to the gym and/or working out outside. I recently downloaded two new apps which I plan on using during this process that I wanted to share with you.

The first app is 5K Runner: Couch to 5K Workout ($2.99 or there’s a free sample version as well). This app helps guide you through an eight week 5K training program. According to the 5K Runner you should be able to complete a 5K run after the 8 week program by only training 3 times a week with the app. I haven’t started using it yet (I will tonight) but once I’ve used it for a while I’ll type up a full review and share with you how well it’s working for me.

The second app I wanted to share is MapMyRide (free). Using MapMyRide’s GPS system you can track your bike rides (pace, total time, distance, calories burned, etc…). It does soooo much more than that but the only reason I downloaded this app is for when I go on bike rides outside. I’ve used this app a few times so far and I really like it. I like that once I’m finished it’ll give me stats about the ride I just completed and a map showing the route I took.

Now that my goal and plan to reach it are on paper (… or the web for that matter) for the world to see I guess I’ll really have to stick with it this time.  This is going to be a struggle, but I really hope I can stay motivated and keep my end goal in mind. I’m just going to take it one week at a time and see how it goes from there. Wish me luck!

– Katie

3 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous

3 responses to “Ready for a Change

  1. Crystal

    good luck 🙂

  2. lauren

    Good luck! I’m about to start a “lifestyle” change too and I have the same problem when it comes to self control and food. You sound really committed though and that’s the first step! 🙂

Leave a Reply

