August 2012 Favorites

Well, another month has come and gone. It’s hard to believe that summer is almost over but you know what? I couldn’t be happier! This dreadful heat will be gone soon and my favorite season will move on in, FALL! I could go on forever about my love of Fall but enough blabbering already! On to the favorites…

Arizona Half & Half

Arnold Palmer’s (half iced tea and half lemonade) are nothing new to me, however, flavored Arnold Palmer’s are. That’s right, FLAVORED! So far I’ve tried (and loved) the half iced tea, half lemonade raspberry flavor and the half sweet tea, half lemonade peach flavor. I have a half sweet tea, half pink lemonade at home but I haven’t tried that one yet. I’m sure it’s just as delicious as the rest! I also tried another half and half drink which was half iced tea, half mango. It was good but I didn’t like it as much as the others.

Vaseline Cocoa Butter Lip Therapy

I’ve previously shared the Vaseline Lip Therapy as a favorite of mine but they recently came out with a Cocoa Butter version so I pick it up to try and I loveee it. I actually like the Cocoa Butter version better than the original. If you liked or even loved the original too then you should definitely give this one a try!

Ice Cream

Ice cream is a long-time love of mine and always will be. I thought I should include it in a monthly favorites at some point so I picked August.

My favorite store bought ice cream is the Breyer’s Blast! S’mores flavor. I could probably eat an entire container of it in one sitting if I wanted to. Yeah, it’s THAT good! My favorite non-store bought is a French Silk Pie Blizzard from Diary Queen. A close second would be plain Cotton Candy ice cream from Cold Stone Creamery.

Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream

Generally speaking, I take terrible care of my skin, hair and nails. But in my defense I’ve been trying to get better with all three of those. One of the things I’ve been doing for my nails is using this Burt’s Bees cuticle cream several times a day and to my surprise this stuff actually works! I usually have crazy looking and dry cuticles but ever since I started using this cream they have actually been looking dare I say, pretty? Maybe now I’ll actually be able to start doing polish swatches and putting them up. Hmmmm…

Aussie 3 Minute Miracle Deeeeeep Conditioner

(that’s exactly what the bottle says)

Keeping along the same theme I’ve been trying to take better care of my hair by using this Aussie deep conditioner. Let me tell you, this stuff works wonders! W-O-N-D-E-R-S!!! What I’ve been doing is washing my hair as normal: shampoo, rinse, condition, rinse. However, after I rinse out my regular conditioner I’ll coat my hair with the Aussie deep conditioner, leave it on for 3 minutes (per the bottles instructions) then rinse. Once my hair has completely dried it’s so soft I almost can’t believe it. It truly is a miracle! And the best part is the price. I get mine at Target for less than $3! Can’t beat that!

Cereal and Milk

I should start off by saying breakfast foods are my all around favorite: cereal, bagels, toast, eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, waffles, hash browns. Yummm, you name it and I probably love it! Except oatmeal… yuck! For the past two months or so I had been eating a cinnamon raisin bagel thin with a cream cheese triangle for breakfast but towards the end of this month I can’t seem to get enough cereal and milk. If I could I’d have breakfast at every meal and occasionally I’m guilty of eating cereal with milk twice a day but sadly, I need to stop that. I’m going to try to start eating better and incorporate more healthy foods into my diet. Egg whites here I come!

MAC

It’s no secret that I love buying makeup and beauty products (regardless of whether I actually need it or not). This month I’ve definitely been on a MAC makeup kick. I’m not going to say the exact amount I’ve spent on MAC products this month because well, frankly, it’s embarrassing!

That being said, last week I decided I’m going to try my hardest to be on a makeup and nail polish no buy for all of September. Wish me luck… seriously, wish me luck because we all know I’m going to need it! Maybe at the end of September I’ll do a post with all the products I buy throughout the month so you can see how guilty I am. But again, wish me luck!

Cosmetics Company Outlet/Store (CCO/CCS)

Heaven! That’s all I can say about the CCO/CCS. It’s this magical place where high-end, name brand (Bobbi Brown, MAC and Clinique to name a few) makeup and other beauty related products are sold at a discount. It’s usually around 30% off the original price which is pretty darn good considering most of the brands available never go on sale. This is where I purchased a few of my MAC products this month including my beloved Disney MAC makeup (Venomous Villains Collection). Still can’t believe I found it there…

Emerald Breakfast On the Go Trail Mix – S’mores Nut Blend

Soooo delicious! I’ve been snacking on these all month. Each package is the perfect size at 200 calories and keeps me full for a long time. The only downside for me is (for some crazyyy reason) they decided to add shaved coconut into the mix and I hate coconut so I just toss that out.

Music

My two favorite songs of the month may both be pop-ish but their titles couldn’t be more different. Cher Lloyd – Want You Back and Taylor Swift – We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together. Each is linked to a YouTube video with the track.

Carry Over Favorites:

Sally Hansen Nail Color in Pacific Blue

Wore this nail polish almost the entire month… I’m slightly obsessed! It’s just too gorgeous to paint my nails anything else!

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain

Every time I try a new shade I fall more and more in love. It’s just such a great product. I can’t say enough good things!

Find my full review here and swatches of 9 out of 12 shades here.

That’s it for August! At first I didn’t think I’d even have enough favorites to post something for this month, but, as I started listing it all out I realized I had moreee than enough! What were some of your favorites for August? Leave them in a comment below!

– Katie

Leave a comment

Filed under Favorites

Leave a Reply

